PCCAT Membership Structure Communique


At the 2019 AGM, the PCCAT membership participated in a strategic planning session on the future of organization. One of the recommendations coming out of this session was a proposed change to the PCCAT membership structure. Due to COVID-19, the proposed changes were put on hold in 2020 and will now be brought forward at the 2021 AGM.

As previously announced, it is proposed that in 2022, PCCAT’s membership will move away from an individual membership structure to an organizational membership structure similar to that of other organizations such as ARUCC. This structure will help to advance PCCAT’s work to facilitate the implementation of policies and practices that support student mobility across Canada. The proposed membership structure will aid in improving equity for participating institutions as one voting member will be permitted per institution. If approved, this proposed change will come into effect in 2022.

A summary of the current membership structure and proposed membership structure is provided below. In order to effect the changes to the membership structure, PCCAT is asking its members to approve changes to PCCAT’s articles and by-laws, in each case, by special resolution of PCCAT’s members. A copy of the proposed amendment to the articles is attached as Exhibit 1 and a copy of the proposed amended and restated by-laws is attached as Exhibit 2.

Current Membership Structure:

PCCAT’s current membership structure is based on individual memberships. To maintain membership, an individual must register and have attended at least one PCCAT conference within the last 3 years and pay an annual membership fee of $25 +HST. It is proposed that all current members will be redesignated as “historical members” and their historical membership interests will expire in accordance with their terms.

Proposed Membership Structure:

PCCAT’s proposed membership structure is based on four membership categories (institutional, Transfer Organization, Associate and Student):

Institutional Member

Institutional Members may be any Canadian public postsecondary educational institution or Indigenous adult educational institution offering postsecondary programs. Private and out-of-country postsecondary institutions that have been authorized by Canadian provincial or territorial or federal governments to grant degrees in their jurisdiction, that are members of a provincial transfer or equivalent organization, and that are recognized by a Canadian or an international quality assurance body deemed appropriate by PCCAT may also be eligible for institutional membership. Institutional Members are eligible to participate actively in the work of PCCAT. While the number of designated representatives may vary depending upon the Institutional Membership Category, each Institutional Member has one vote on all matters brought before PCCAT. Membership shall fall under one of the following categories, determined by total operating revenue:

Institutional Member CategoryTotal Operating Revenue (annual)Membership Fee (annual)# of Designated Representatives# votes
A $450M+ $250 Unlimited 1
B $200M - $449M $200 Up to 6 reps 1
C $100M - $199M $100 Up to 4 reps 1
D Less than $100M $75 Up to 2 reps 1

Transfer Organization Member

Transfer Organization Members are not-for-profit organizations or government units/agencies with jurisdictional responsibility for postsecondary education transfer (e.g. Provincial CATs, Government agencies and secretariats). A Transfer Organization Membership may include up to four designated representatives but is limited to only one vote on all matters brought before PCCAT.

Membership TypeMembership Fee (annual)# of Designated Representatives# votes
Transfer Organization Member $100 Up to 4 reps 1

Associate Member

Associate Members are individuals, corporate, private organizations, or government departments with interest in the work of PCCAT. Not-for-profit organizations or professional membership associations within the postsecondary education sector in Canada are eligible. Individuals from postsecondary education institutions who do not hold an Institutional Membership but are interest in the work of PCCAT may hold an Associate Membership. Associate Members are non-voting.

Membership TypeMembership Fee (annual)# of Designated Representatives# votes
Associate Member $50 1 Non-voting

Student Member

Full time students with interest in the work of PCCAT may hold a Student Membership. Student members are non-voting

Membership TypeMembership Fee (annual)# of Designated Representatives# votes
Student Member $25 1 Non-voting

Members are eligible for a $100 discount when registering for the PCCAT annual conference.

Exhibit 1

Amended Articles
  1. To change the classes of members that the corporation is authorized to establish by:
    1. changing the designation of the one class of members in the corporation to historical members; and
    2. creating the following classes of membership: institutional members, transfer organization members, associate members and student members;
    so that, after giving effect to the foregoing, the classes of members of the corporation is authorized to establish shall be the following five (5) classes of members:
    transfer organization
  2. To provide that each of the historical members, the institutional members and the transfer organization members shall be entitled to receive notice of and to attend all meetings of the members of the corporation and each such member shall have one (1) vote at each such meeting, except for meetings at which only members of another class are entitled to vote separately as a class.
  3. To provide that each of the associate members and the student members shall not be entitled to receive notice of, to attend or to vote at any meeting of the members, except as provided by the Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations Act, S.C. 2009, c. 23.
  4. To delete the statement of purpose of the corporation and replace it with the following:
    The corporation will work collaboratively to:
    1. support research to inform planning, monitor trends, and advance effective student mobility and transfer practices across Canada;
    2. share tools and effective practices that support institutional/jurisdictional capacity to enhance student mobility; and
    3. provide transfer and student mobility related information to relevant stakeholders.

Exhibit 2

Amended and Restated By-Laws

PCCAT proposed/amended By-Laws (May 2021)